This web page uses its own cookies and the third-party cookies to collect the information which help us make the service as good as possible. By no means is our intention to use it for gathering personal data.

More information Cookies policy



Torre Almenara. Rincón de la Victoria


The origin of these beacon towers can be traced back to the Andalusí period, specifically to the reign of Yusuf I (14th century), who was responsible for fortifying much of the coast.

They served to provide constant surveillance of the sea in order to warn nearby fortresses of pirate incursions via smoke signals during the day and bonfires at night.

Functionally speaking, these structures were divided into two separate areas, a roof terrace and an interior chamber, with a spiral staircase inside.

Below you will find some examples of it:

1. Torre de la Chullera (Manilva)
2. Torre de la Sal (Casares)
3. Torre de Arroyo Vaquero (Estepona)
4. Torre de Salada Vieja (Estepona)
5. Torre del Padrón (Estepona)
6. Torre del Velerín (Estepona)
7. Torre de Guadalmansa (Estepona)
8. Torre del Saladillo (Estepona)
9. Torre de Baños o Casasola (Estepona)
10. Torre de Las Bóvedas (Marbella)
11. Torre del Duque (Marbella)
12. Torre de Ancón (Marbella)
13. Torre de Río Real (Marbella)
14. Torre de Lance de las cañas (Marbella)
15. Torre Ladrones (Marbella)
16. Torre de Calahonda (Mijas)
17. Torre Nueva de la Cala del Moral o Penta Pesetos (Mijas)
18. Torre Batería de la Cala del Moral (Mijas)
19. Torre Calaburras (Mijas)
20. Torre Vigía de Torremuelle (Benalmádena)
21. Torre Vigía de Torrequebrada (Benalmádena)
22. Torre Bermeja (Benalmádena)
23. Torre de Los Molinos (Torremolinos)
24. Torre de las Palomas (Málaga)
25. Torre del Cantal (Rincón de la Victoria)
26. Torre Vigía de Benagalbón (Rincón de la Victoria)
27. Torre de Chilches (Vélez-Málaga)
28. Torre Molla (Benajarafe, Vélez-Málaga)
29. Torre de Jaral (Vélez-Málaga)
30. Torre de Manganeta (Vélez-Málaga)
31. Torre Ladeada (Algarrobo)
32. Torre Derecha o Nueva (Algarrobo)
33. Torre de Lagos (Vélez Málaga)
34. Torre del Morche o Rio Huit (Torrox)
35. Torre de Calaceite (Torrox)
36. Torre de Macaca (Nerja)
37. Torre Vigía La Torrecilla (Nerja)
38. Torre de Maro (Nerja)
39. Torre del Rió de la Miel (Nerja)
40. Torre del Pino (Nerja)
41. Torre de la Caleta (Nerja).